Policier & Thriller

  • Presents a bleak, bitter, black comedy about a world we all recognize but do not wish to confront.

  • THE ORDER OF THE DAY

    Eric Vuillard

    B>'A thoroughly gripping and mesmerising work of black comedy and political disaster' - Guardian/b>br>b>/b>br>b>Winner of the 2017 Prix Goncourt/b>br>b>/b>br>Eric Vuillard's gripping novel The Order of the Day tells the story of the pivotal meetings which took place between the European powers in the run-up to World War Two. What emerges is a fascinating and incredibly moving account of failed diplomacy, broken relationships, and the catastrophic momentum which led to conflict.The titans of German industry - set to prosper under the Nazi government - gather to lend their support to Adolf Hitler. The Austrian Chancellor realizes too late that he has wandered into a trap, as Hitler delivers the ultimatum that will lay the groundwork for Germany's annexation of Austria. Winston Churchill joins Neville Chamberlain for a farewell luncheon held in honour of Joachim von Ribbentrop: German Ambassador to England, soon to be Foreign Minister in the Nazi government, and future defendant at the Nuremberg trials.Suffused with dramatic tension, this unforgettable novel tells the tragic story of how the actions of a few powerful men brought the world to the brink of war.

  • Nicholas and his wife April live in a remote cabin in the Blue Ridge Mountains with their four-year-old son, Jack. They keep their families at a distance, rejecting what their loved ones think of as 'normal'. In the early hours of a Wednesday morning, they are driving home from a party when their car crashes on a deserted road and they are killed.As the couple's grieving relatives descend on the family home, they are forced to decide who will care for the child Nicholas and April left behind. Nicholas's brother, Nathaniel, and his wife Stephanie feel entirely unready to be parents but his mother and father have issues of their own. And April's mother, Tammy, is driving across the country to claim her grandson.Experiencing a few traumatic days in the minds of each family member, Alan Rossi's Mountain Road, Late at Night is a taut, nuanced and breathtaking look at what we do when everything goes wrong, and the frightening fact that life carries on, regardless. It is gripping, affecting and extremely accomplished debut.

  • Anglais Rupture

    Simon Lelic

    Samuel Szaikowski, prof d'histoire, a ouvert le feu lors d'un rassemblement dans le gymnase du collège anglais où il enseignait.
    Bilan : il a tué trois enfants et un autre professeur avant de se suicider. L'inspecteur Lucia May est chargée de cette enquête sous haute tension. Les politiques comme les médias sont sur les dents. Refusant de céder aux pressions, elle décide de prendre son temps pour mener à bien ses investigations. Certes Szaikowski n'était pas très net, mais n'a-t-il pas été poussé à bout, jusqu'à son point de rupture, par ses élèves comme par ses collègues qui le harcelaient, ignoré par sa hiérarchie ? Lucia veut comprendre.
    Comprendre qui sont les vrais coupables...

  • B>Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year/b>br>br>The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she'd left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald'Full of twists and turns' Independent'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

  • B>The Overnight Kidnapper is the twenty-third Inspector Montalbano mystery, from the international bestselling author Andrea Camilleri./b>After a hectic morning involving two rather irritating cases of mistaken identity, Inspector Montalbano finally arrives in his office ready find out what's troubling Vigata this week. What he discovers is unnerving. A woman on her way home from work has been held up at gunpoint, chloroformed and kidnapped, but then released just hours later - unharmed and with all her possessions - into the open countryside.Later that day, Montalbano hears from Enzo, the owner of his favourite restaurant, that his niece has recently been the victim of the exact same crime. Before long, a third instance of this baffling overnight kidnapping has been reported. As far as Montalbano can tell, there is no link between the attacker and the victims. So what exactly is this mystery assailant gaining from these fleeting kidnappings? And what can he do to stop them? Montalbano must use all his logic and intuition if he is to answer these pressing questions before the kidnapper finds his next victim . . .

  • B>Adapted for BBC4's Inspector Montalbano./b>A collection of eight ingenious short stories following Inspector Montalbano's investigations into Sicily's murky underworld, all served with Camilleri's trademark wit, and Montalbano's typical appetite. From the title story, Death at Sea, in which the alleged manslaughter of an engineer upon a fishing trawler leads Inspector Montalbano to uncover an even more sinister crime, Andrea Camilleri takes his readers through eight cunning cases from the Vigatan police files. Starting with an arson attack on a hotel which leaves the distraught owner as the chief suspect; to the mysterious case of a woman who goes missing in an underpass with a million lire in her handbag; to a threat on Montalbano's own life, as an anonymous motorcyclist takes a shot at the detective.Featuring stories adapted for BBC4's Inspector Montalbano, this is the perfect place to start reading Sicily's favourite crime author.

  • Anglais Kiss me first

    Lottie Moggach

  • Maybe it was time I forgot about Nico Peterson, and his sister, and the Cahuilla Club, and Clare Cavendish. Clare? The rest would be easy to put out of my mind, but not the black-eyed blonde . . . It is the early 1950s. In Los Angeles, Private Detective Philip Marlowe is as restless and lonely as ever, and business is a little slow. Then a new client arrives: young, beautiful, and expensively dressed, Clare Cavendish wants Marlowe to find her former lover, a man named Nico Peterson. Soon Marlowe will find himself not only under the spell of the Black-Eyed Blonde; but tangling with one of Bay City's richest families - and developing a singular appreciation for how far they will go to protect their fortune . . . In this gripping and deeply evocative crime novel, Benjamin Black returns us to the dark, mesmerising world of Raymond Chandler's The Long Goodbye and his singular detective Philip Marlowe; one of the most iconic and enduringly popular detectives in crime fiction.

  • Anglais The Lemur

    Benjamin Black

    William Mulholland is an Irish-American electronics billionaire. An ex-CIA operative, he now heads up the Mulholland Trust, with the help of his daughter. When Mulholland gets wind of a hostile biography planned for him by the investigative journalist Wilson Cleaver, he commissions his daughter's husband, John Glass, to pen the official line.

  • Anglais A BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO DIE

    Malla Nunn

    When an Afrikaans police captain is murdered in a small South African country town, Detective Emmanuel Cooper must navigate his way through the labyrinthine racial and social divisions that split the community. And as the National Party introduces the laws to support the system of apartheid, Emmanuel struggles – much like Martin Cruz Smith’s Arkady Renko – to remain a good man in the face of astonishing power. In a considered but very commercial novel, Malla Nunn combines a compelling plot with a thoughtful and complex portrayal of a fascinating period of history, illustrating the human desires that drive us all, regardless of race, colour or creed. A Beautiful Place To Die is the first of a planned series of novels featuring Detective Emmanuel Cooper. ‘A terrific page-turning debut. Clever and multi-layered in its portrayal of the people and landscape of apartheid South Africa. I loved it’ Minette Walters ‘Remarkable’ Literary Review 'A first crime novel of considerable power ' Sydney Morning Herald

  • Anglais Limitations

    Scott Turow

    Life would seem to have gone well for George Mason. His days as a criminal defence lawyer are long behind him. Yet, when a disturbing rape case is brought before him, the judge begins to question the very nature of the law and his role within it. What is troubling George Mason so deeply? Is it his wife's recent diagnosis? Or the strange emails?

  • Anglais The Silver Swan

    Benjamin Black

  • This omnibus edition from Carl Hiaasen includes three novels. The works featured are 'Native Tongue', 'Striptease', and 'Stormy Weather'.

empty